Sanity Injection

Injecting a dose of sanity into your day’s news and current events.

“I’ll stop.”

Posted by sanityinjection on October 30, 2009

In my last post about the Frankenstein House health care bill, I posed the question: Why do the Democrats in Congress think they can spend unlimited amounts of money that we don’t have with no consequences?

Peggy Noonan tries to answer that question in her latest column, which I commend to your attention. I was particularly struck by this tidbit:

I talked with an executive this week with what we still call “the insurance companies”….He talked about all the new proposed regulations on the industry. Rep. Barney Frank had just said on some cable show that the Democrats of the White House and Congress “are trying on every front to increase the role of government in the regulatory area.” The executive said of Washington: “They don’t understand that people can just stop, get out. I have friends and colleagues who’ve said to me ‘I’m done.’ ” He spoke of his own increasing tax burden and said, “They don’t understand that if they start to tax me so that I’m paying 60%, 55%, I’ll stop.”

If that bears an eerie similarity to Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged, it should. I recall reading that work and thinking that while I agreed with the points being made, the story of America’s most productive people laying down their ploughshares and refusing to work to subsidize everyone else seemed overwrought and implausible. But isn’t that just what is being implied above?

If the slogan of 2008 was “Change We Can Believe In” and the slogan of 2009 has been “Where’s *My* Bailout”, I sincerely hope the slogan of 2010 is not, “Who is John Galt?” But the Nancy Pelosis and Barney Franks seem to be doing their best to force us down that path.

One Response to ““I’ll stop.””

  1. Marque said

    Thanks for referring me to the Noonan column. I’ve had the same thought a lot lately: “Do they really think they can just say this stuff and think people don’t pay attention?” On any given day, sure, the majority of people have bigger fish to fry than listen to the latest emanations from Barney Frank or Nancy Pelosi. But they say such ridiculous things, with such regularity, and with no attempt at justification, that over time the effect is to destroy one’s own credibility.

    People forget that one of the premier accomplishments of Ronald Reagan and his fellow travelers was that they were willing to look the liberals in Washington in the face, laugh at them, and say, “That’s just not true.” No one had said that to them in 30 years, because everyone was playing by the same rules. Well, these same folks have had six years where their endless berating of George *#@&$@#*(!! Bush shielded their own views from any meaningful criticism by the media. But they’ve become no more sensible, and their arguments no less laughable.

    The reason it took the Republican Revolution twelve years to collapse was that their ideas were right, but their representatives were flawed, and became increasingly so. The Democrats’ revolution may fail in less than six years because their ideas are wrong, and their representatives are no better. Once the Obama halo is removed, there is no there there, as Ms. Noonan would say.

Leave a Reply

 
