Sanity Injection

Injecting a dose of sanity into your day’s news and current events.

Stop calling me a racist

Posted by sanityinjection on September 22, 2009

Am I the only one who is sick and tired of the incessant drumbeat from Democrats and the media that all opposition to President Obama is fueled by racism?

Of course there are racists out there, and some of them do go to town halls and tea party protests. But they are not even a sizable minority. They’re the fringe, and to seize on them as representative of legitimate protesters is typical sleazy politics for the Democrats, but it’s reprehensible journalism. Believe me, I could go to any Democrat rally or health care reform rally and pick out a few left-wing nuts who would make even Nancy Pelosi cringe.

Does it make me racist that I don’t want the government forcing me to pay for everyone else’s health care, or that I don’t want to be punished for the carbon my car emits (or that I emit every time I exhale?) Am I a racist because I think Obama has blundered badly on missile defense? Or that he has wasted a trillion dollars on political giveaways and pet projects that were supposed to stimulate the economy? Does it really enhance the body politic to create an environment in which any legitimate discussion of issues must be swamped by accusations of racism?

Let me make it crystal clear for Pelosi, Maureen Dowd and their associated lapdogs: I attribute none of these failings to the fact that President Obama is black. I see no connection between the color of his skin and the quality of his leadership (or lack thereof.) As Obama said on Letterman, “I was black before the election.” In other words, the fact that Obama’s popularity has plummeted cannot be attributed to racism, and even the President gets that. Rather, it stems from serious, widespread concerns about the President’s leadership, his trustworthiness (in terms of keeping his election promises such as not raising taxes on the middle class) and the direction in which he is taking this country. Even with all of this, I do believe the President is genuinely doing what he believes to be best for our country. I just think he’s wrong – not wrong because he’s black, but wrong because his ideas about America, the Constitution, and capitalism are the same wrong ideas shared by plenty of white people who would be equally distasteful as President.

Are we done now?

4 Responses to “Stop calling me a racist”

  1. Jess Chapman said

    Frankly, no, we’re not done. Because some people are plain fucking stupid and will play the race card whenever they see fit. If they were capable of being reasoned with, we wouldn’t be having this discussion, because they would have stopped making statements like that three years ago.

  2. Ms. D said

    Well, I do admit there is still a lot of racism out there, but I personally, a democrat, am sick and tired of the race card. I think it is just another excuse like any past people have used, it just involves race now instead of something else. But I am glad it’s not so much coming from above as it is coming from below, if you know what I mean.

  3. Mark Steyn has a superb piece on this in Macleans:

    http://www2.macleans.ca/2009/09/24/dislike-obama-you-must-be-racist/

    Here’s an excerpt:

    “My colleague at America’s National Review, Jonah Goldberg, proposed a simple thought experiment: suppose Hillary Clinton had won the election and proposed the current health care reforms. Does anyone doubt that conservatives would be equally opposed to it? Would that, too, be “racist”? A reader wrote back: no, if they were opposing Hillary’s health plan, they’d be sexist. Er, okay, how about John Edwards? Would opposing his health care reforms be oleaginous trial-lawyer creepy adulterer-phobic?”

  4. Ms. D said

    Ha! Didn’t you say something about that special circle in Hell for the John Edwards?? Anyway, I let go of his potential the minute I found out he pays $400 for haircuts. Maybe that’s just the J in me, I don’t know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
