Sanity Injection

Injecting a dose of sanity into your day’s news and current events.

Quote of the Week

Posted by sanityinjection on May 20, 2009

“I don’t like guns necessarily. What I want is those constitutional rights to be protected.” – Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK)

Mr. Coburn was speaking on a rider he attached to the credit card regulation bill now moving through Congress. The rider allows persons who are authorized by state law to carry loaded and concealed weapons to continue to do so when they enter a national park or wildlife refuge. Current law requires those weapons to be unloaded and secured upon entry.

I share Senator Coburn’s sentiments. I do not own a gun or have any particular affection for guns. I have no interest in hunting, though I’ve often said to myself that I should learn how to fire a handgun as an emergency skill. Nevertheless, I do not believe that the Second Amendment, or any Amendment to the Constitution should be sidestepped or disregarded. The Founding Fathers felt that the right to bear arms was so important that they placed it immediately after freedom of religion, speech and assembly.

Whiel I admit I do not imagine a pressing reason why one would need to carry a concealed weapon in a national park, I also see no pressing reason why one should have to disarm in order to transit through one.

The rider is expected to succeed because Democrats do not want to derail the credit card bill, and President Obama cannot veto the gun language without vetoing the entire bill.

One Response to “Quote of the Week”

  1. […] just a week ago, Congress passed a bill that included an explicit protection of the right to carry a concealed weapon…in a federal park (for persons authorized to do so under state law.) There was no serious attempt to […]

Leave a Reply

 
