Sanity Injection

Injecting a dose of sanity into your day’s news and current events.

The “Twenty Minutes Obama”

Posted by sanityinjection on October 30, 2008

Did you watch Barack Obama’s half-hour infomercial last night? If so, what did you think of it?

I admit I didn’t watch it. I’ve watched a fair amount of Senator Obama since his campaign began, and I knew I wasn’t going to change my mind about my vote. I must confess that I found it slightly creepy how many different channels Obama was on at the same time. It reminded me of the propaganda broadcasts in George Orwell’s “1984” that everyone is forced to watch. I started referring to it – as the “Two Minutes Obama” in conversation with my friends.

I admit the metaphor breaks down a little bit. In Orwell’s novel, when the audience sees the image of Big Brother, they chant his initials: “B-B! B-B!”. I’m not sure that a chant of “B.O.! B.O.!” would have quite the same solemn effect 🙂

I can’t help wondering, though – perhaps unfairly – would this be a regular weekly feature of an Obama Presidency? By paying for the airtime as a commercial broadcast, Obama avoids triggering “equal time” opportunities for an opposing response to be aired. Why not continue to do so as President? People will be so much happier when they’re not being confused by multiple viewpoints on the issues…

One Response to “The “Twenty Minutes Obama””

  1. Sister Benedict said

    Yes, we can!
    Yes, we can!
    Yes, we can!
    Yes, we can!
    Yes, we can!
    Yes, we can!

    We can… what?

Leave a Reply

 
