Sanity Injection

Injecting a dose of sanity into your day’s news and current events.

In response to gas prices…

Posted by sanityinjection on June 9, 2008

Judging from a few hours of highway driving this weekend, I can definitely tell that in response to $4/gallon gas, some people are taking to heart the advice of drving 55mph to improve fuel efficiency. Which is all well and good. But in the name of all that is holy, WHY do these people feel the need to drive 55 in the middle lanes of a multi-lane highway? Are they trying to make some sort of statement – “Look at me, I’m saving money and saving the environment!” or just generally clueless? Do they think they are going to inspire other drivers to follow their example by clogging up the entire road?

This is not a question of right and wrong, it’s a simple question of safety. If you want to drive 55, do so in the right lane. Driving that speed in the middle lanes when everyone else around you is going at least 10 mph faster forces other drivers to either slow down unexpectedly, or pass you on the right. Both can create unsafe situations. It also creates traffic bottlenecks that inconvenience others for no valid reason.

The extra miles per gallon you are getting will probably be of little comfort if you are in a full body cast in the hospital because two people passing you at the same time on either side both tried to shift into your lane at once right in front of you. 

One Response to “In response to gas prices…”

  1. Sister Benedict said

    What’s the problem, San Inj? I drive 55mph in the center lane — that’s the travelling lane, isn’t it? I’m not passing or exiting, just travelling. I have a big SUV that no one can see through or around, so don’t worry about my being in a bodycast, though it’s nice of you to be concerned. Also, I’m very worried about the environment and reducing my carbon footprint after watching that Al Gore movie so to save fuel I drive with my windows open, my A/C on high and the emergency brake engaged. Also, when I litter out the open window it’s only biodegradable things like disposable diapers.

Leave a Reply

 
